Kings County Library

Your resource for lifelong learning

Databases

Academic OneFile

Access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

Archives Unbound

Access rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research.

Biography

Allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Book Connections

Book Connections strives to joyfully enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books.

Books and Authors

Discover your next favorite book, find read-a-likes, find book lists, learn more about authors and much more! 

Brainfuse

Provides online homework help through HelpNow service every day from 1pm to 10pm and offers a unique blend of one-to-one homework help, skills building, test preparation, and writing assistance.

Britannica Escolar

Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. 

Un excelente recurso digital en español que ayuda a enriquecer el aprendizaje de los estudiantes de primaria y secundaria.

Britannica School

The go-to site for research-offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended web sites, with three separate reading levels.

Business

Contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily.

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.


Chilton Library

Represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Diversity Studies

Prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Elementary

Introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.

Entrepreneurship

Learn how to plan, fund, start or manage your small business. Resources include; sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites.

Environmental Studies

Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

With electronic reference books from Gale and our publishing partners, researchers can instantly access thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject. These trusted, authoritative reference works are available 24/7 through our state-of-the-art Gale Virtual Reference Library platform, providing an unprecedented combination of functionality and features.

Gardening and Horticulture

Focuses on the practical aspects and the scientific theory of horticulture studies and offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects access to important content relevant to their pursuits.

Gender Studies

Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Global Issues

Analyze important global issues and events of the modern world based on international viewpoints. Continuously updated.

Health and Medicine

Includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.

Health and Wellness

Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

High School

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects which merges Gale's continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly experience.

High School Edition

Provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for middle- and high-school students to use for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a range of subjects—from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

Home Improvement

Places the research of hobbyists and professionals on a solid foundation with articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles and covers topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.

Information Science

Contains valuable content for library science students, information science students, technology professionals, and others. Information Science is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

Informe Académico

Search across full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.

JobNow & VetNow

Brainfuse helps veterans, students, and job seekers reach their goals, with qualified Veteran Navigators, eTutors, and Job Coaches anytime, anywhere.

Lifelong learners can sharpen their skills and continue to learn and grow without tuition fees, using Brainfuse tools.

Legal Forms

Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

LegalTrac

Provides indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text criticism and reviews on thousands of writers from all eras.

LitFinder

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, poetry citations, short stories, and more.

Middle School

Middle school students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

OneFile

Access an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.

Opposing Viewpoints

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues and features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

ProCitizen

Studying for the American citizenship test is easy with ProCitizen! Watch one of 100 short videos and take interactive quizzes to help remember what you need to know to prepare for the naturalization test.

ProCitizen en espanol

Estudiar para el examen de ciudadanía estadounidense es fácil con ProCitizen! Mire uno de los 100 videos cortos y realice cuestionarios interactivos para recordar lo que necesita saber para prepararse para el examen de naturalización.

Pronunciador en español!

Utilice Pronunciador para aprender 163 idiomas diferentes! (El tiempo de descarga puede tardar hasta un minuto.)

Pronunciator

Use Pronunciator to learn 163 different languages! (Download time can take up to a minute.)

ProQuest CultureGrams

Access concise and accurate information on the countries of the world. Includes individual reports for 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces written and reviewed by in-country experts and updated regularly. The engaging interface includes a worldwide photo gallery, slideshows, video clips, famous people collection, Faces of the Worlds interviews, recipe collection, and data tables to help put facts into perspective and for comparison.

ProQuest eBook Central

 ProQuest eBook Central is eBook subscription database (over 12,000 titles) to support multiple subject areas (English Language Arts, Science, Math, Social Studies, Health, Physical Education, Information Literacy and Technology).

ProQuest eLibrary

The ProQuest eLibrary simplifies the research process, making it easier for researchers to select their topics and get connected with scholarly information. Includes more than 11,000+ editor-created Research Topics on a vast array of people, places, historical events and eras, literary genres, current events, broad curricular themes, and much more. Editor’s picks and trending topics make it easier to explore appropriate subject matter and get started. Includes primary and scholarly sources in 100% full text. Includes 1,700+ magazines, newspapers, transcripts, and digitized reference book content. Includes more than seven million images, maps, websites, videos, and interactive simulations.

 

ProQuest Homework Central

The ProQuest Homework Center provides authoritative information on a variety of topics to assist student research across multiple ProQuest platforms.

ProQuest Research Companion

A resource that helps high school, college, and undergraduate university students develop critical thinking and information literacy skills needed for scholarly research. Access multimedia-learning modules that answer questions like How do I choose a topic? and Where do I find information? and How do I evaluate resources? The modules include nearly 100 videos, assessment questions, and other tools designed to walk users through the scholarly research process.

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer

SIRS® Discoverer® is a general reference database for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as reading, language arts, science, social studies, history, health and technology.

ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher

When it comes to helping novice researchers make sense of the major issues of the day, SIRS® Issues Researcher stands apart by offering balanced content selections from more than 2,000 global sources.

Science (In Context)

Find contextual information on hundreds of today's science topics. Includes full-text articles and more; updated continuously.

Science (Interactive)

Users can manipulate and explore 3D interactive models, allowing students to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth and space science. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

TeachingBooks.net

This resource features a suite of instructional resources that enrich the fiction and nonfiction books read by children and young adults. Databases include: book guides & lesson plans, diverse books, literature-based vocabulary lists, meet-the-author videos and book readings and resources for award-winning books.

Testing and Education Reference Center

 Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships that meet your  financial needs, take on-line practice tests, and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

U.S. History

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. 

Universal Class

Why not learn something new today? Universal Class™ offers hundreds of free online classes taught by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic. Join us today, and let's start learning together.

World History

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. 

Note: Access to Kings County Library ebooks, audiobooks, and electronic resources is limited to residents of the Kings County Library service area.

chat loading...